Page of

Presidential Politics and Musical Chairs

Presidential Politics and Musical Chairs

(p.113) Chapter 7 Presidential Politics and Musical Chairs
Minnesota's Miracle
Tom Berg
University of Minnesota Press

This chapter discusses how Speaker Martin Sabo and Majority Leaders Irv Anderson and Nick Coleman strived to get their huge majorities lined up and pulled in the same direction. On the other hand, the Republican Caucus selected Henry Savelkoul as its minority leader, who had shown an ability to work with the new Democratic-Farmer-Labor majority legislators. Sabo then appointed new committee chairs: Harry Sieben was named chair of the Government Operations Committee, Bill Kelly was named chair of the Tax Committee, and Tom Berg was named chair of a new Local and Urban Affairs Committee. The chapter also looks at the evolution of federalism and government services since the Constitution was drafted, as part of understanding the mechanisms of the 1970s legislature.

Keywords:   Martin Sabo, Irv Anderson, Nick Coleman, Republican Caucus, Henry Savelkoul, Government Operations Committee, Tax Committee, Local and Urban Affairs Committee, federalism

Sign In

Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy and Legal Notice